Department of Malayalam & Sanskrit


The Department of Malayalam is one of the prestigious departments in ourcollege. It has a rich tradition. The Post-Graduate course was started in 1993. Prof. M. P.Manmadhan, the great social reformer and Gandhian philosopher was one of ourprominent faculty members. Dr. A. R. Gopala Pilllai, eminent scholar and grammarian,Prof. Cherukunnam Purushothaman, well-known scholar and poet, Prof. G.Gopalakrishnan Nair, a versatile genius, Dr. S. V. Venugopan Nair, the well-known shortstory writer who won the Kerala Shaithya Academy award, were some of the reputedmembers of the faculty.. Many of our teachers are well known writers, academicians,research guides, orators, award winners and media personalities. An active AlumniAssociation which is functioning under the patronage of the famous poet Prof. V.Madhusoosanan Nair has been a source of inspiration to our department. Thedepartment organizes seminars and workshops with the approval and sponsorship ofthe UGC. The department conducts Ramayana Seminar in July (Karkkadakam) andKeralapriravi Seminar in November, every year. Terminal examinations and Test papersare conducted regularly. Assignments and discussions, NET coaching, special classes andenrichment programs supplement teaching. Innovative teaching methods are adoptedby using audio-visual aids. Documentaries on culture, folklore and literature are shownwith the help of LCD. As the students use to study the various aspects of film making wearrange film shows in the department and talks are arranged with the personalities andthe technicians in the field of cinema. The Department library has a collection of around10000 books. Students are allowed to make full use of the books, journals andperiodicals. “Ezhuthakam’’ is an annual Magazine published by the Department.“Nanduni’’ Folklore Club acts under the auspicious of Malayalam Department.“Malayanma” a research forum of Ph.D students has been functioning in our department and conducting various programmes related to research from July 2014.

News letter 2017